240v hookup / 12v LB - what feeds what?

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moseley

Reaction score
Hello folks, and a happy new year! :D

I've begun the task of tidying up the PO's electrics, as although everything seems to be suitably rated, a lot of domestic cabling had been used and it generally is an untidy mess.

So, everything is stripped out from the LB side of things and I'm working out what will be hooked up to it and sizing the cables and fuses accordingly. The current setup is all running off a split charge relay and LB so that won't be too hard to plan out. Off the top of my head we have:

1. Propex
2. Stereo
3. External amps
4. Lighting
5. Inverter
6. USB sockets

Now then, in the future, we plan to add in a fridge and a 240v hookup. Now bear in mind I'm not an electrician, but my understanding with this is that the 12v and 240v systems have to be separate - you can't just wire for instance a 3 pin plug socket into the inverter and also the 240v hookup without some sort of switch to change between the two electric sources?

If I'm on the right track so far... the 240v hookup would be wired into a trickle charger so as to effectively power the 12v side of things off the LB. However, the trickle charger is not going to produce enough current to maintain the battery whilst also powering everything, so how does it all tie together? I've read about Zig units, but just wanted to get my head around the basic wiring first!

Any pointers would be much appreciated as I get to grips with this dark art... :msn4:

I would advise fitting a double socket powered by the hookup and a single socket to the inverter for simplicity. That way you can avoid plugging the kettle or hair dryer into the inverter powers socket.