crusing speeds ?

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dubscum

Reaction score
motorway driving, what engine you go and what speed to drive.

micro bus 1600sp 55mph, not to bad mph and the engine sounds sweet.

i past a few other bays going slower. But 2 splitscreen came past me at different points of the jorney pretty fast and they looked standard, whats the deal with them ? is it due to a better gearing after a straight axel swap ?

My stock 1600 does 55 to 65mph @ 3000rpm

Remember the wheel and tyre combo you run will affect your gear ratios.
If your looking to get a faster cruising speed with lower rpm in a bay you can always buy a 6 rib 2.0L box and swap the nosecones over (late one for your early one)

If its a quick split its probably had an IRS conversion and a late model beetle box or freeway flyer fitted?

I'm no expert but my van was a microbus and although it is slow away from a stop it can run along the motorway at all but 70 mile after mile...until it goes uphill. It's always been good but is now great as it has a new Mexican engine as of last autumn. Standard other than a slight lowering which helps stability.

I have a 1600 sp in my 71 and she pootles along happily all day on the motorway at around 60/65. Optimum speed seems to be about 56mph though (its like warp speed for bays!) :D

I drive a heavy old westy with 1600 sp and drive at 60mph on speedo (50mph on SatNav). Always feels like you're on holiday.

I drive a westy pop-top everyday, on the way to work it will sit a 60-65mph easy. Got a new motor, had a weak moment and fitted weber 40idf carbs, bosch 009 dizzy and 4 into 1 exhaust system. Got alot oooph now :D

Pity i can't get the benefits though, curse my standard transmission. Dunno if to go 1303 beetle box or half inch 1 from a 2L late bay and switch nose cones. :?

All i know is, gimme a higher 4th gear