Project Beryl, 1970 tintop resto

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quentinfarquar

Reaction score
I am new to van ownership and I am getting close to actually getting my hands on the van, so I thought I would start a post. I have found the other posts a great help, I am hoping this will help me with the project. I nearly bought a pop top last year, but I let practicality get the better of me. The fact I have 3 children so not enough seat belts, and that it wouldn't fit in my garage. I then decided if I didn't do it while they were young enough to enjoy the adventures I would regret it. So I bought a very tidy white westy, these pics are from the US and then the UK.

The van was in good shape and underneath it's just the same. I did consider keeping it original but paint was the only way the Mrs would consider buying it. So she was stripped and prepped for paint. I also wanted to lower the stance, but not go daft. So she was fitted with a red 9 2-4" kit at the front, and 2" plate at the back. This also meant I had a fighting chance of getting it in the garage, so it seemed better than the £1000 I was quoted for a roller door.

Lower...

The color choice was narrowed down to Savanagh Beige, neptune blue and Beryl Green. After much debate the family choice was Beryl green and the van was named. I used to have a beetle in cyber green and always liked the color, so decision made.

Inside done, roof next

Some shots of the green going on the outside and the rebuilding.

The Badge decision, it was going to be the original white and then I saw the chrome.

Ready for a road trip...

She is now having a service then I can start on the inside.