RubyBlu - A jovial illustrated build thread!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr1ncognit0

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I have been sporadically posting a few Q's in the technical section and browsing the forums and thought it would be good to get a build thread going to keep a log of progress and jobs done.... I have done a very small amount of mechanical work growing up but nothing major, and not on this scale.... I am fortunately quite practical and willing to have an educated go at things.... so let see how this build progresses!

So first photos from pickup (Sep 13) to Engine out and block split... present day (Feb 14).... I will be posting more regularly but I realised I am a fair weather mechanic and did sweet FA during the winter months.... back on it now.

Note to readers: Sorry about my overuse of "......" and "!!!!" ..... Bad habit and I can't stop myself..... <-- see!!! <--- and again.

Also this OP is a little on the lengthy side but wanted to document it all to date.

Where I have a trip to forum's if you check out my other posts you can see the problem solving in action.... and...

Action!

The day of collection!!

Apparently it's a runner... all it needs is a new fuel pump.... done! regulator fitted shortly after... oh and head lights.... and windows.... and seats that don't move around.... and..... well it's a long list..... so not quite a runner.

Hmmmm .... but wait.... battery charged... pump working.... still not working.... Quick trip to the forums resulted in a full carb strip and rebuild.... it was certainly gunked up and the floats were bent...

Ahhh... that's better... nice and clean!

and refitted.

.... Turned it over and wooomp.. it started! .... Made a funny noise after a few minutes and stopped....... UH OH!!! Trip to forum once again.... Took no chances and decided to drop the engine out... there is a first for everything...