Scammer Warning!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

baggycp

Reaction score
Hi all. Been trying to sell my bay, and today received an email asking for details and the last price id accept, thought the phrase "last price" seemed odd, but being a trusting guy thought id reply.

Next email I received said:

"Hello thanks for reply, i am a marine engineer, i am at sea right now. I
am buying this for my son as a surprise gift. I can  only pay through
paypal at the moment as i don't have access to my bank account online(i
dont have internet banking with it), but i have it attached to my
paypal account, and this is why i insisted on using paypal to pay,all
i will need is your paypal email address to make the payment, and if
you dont have a paypal account yet, you can set one  it cant take you
less than 3mins to do that, i will be expecting your paypal email so l
can pay.  I have a pick up agent that will come for the pick up after
payment has been sorted,  l will be waiting for your reply asap.."

Being a little wiser to scams, and the fact someone is willing to pay full price without viewing, I decided to do a search and see what I can find out. Turns out that there are either a lot of marine engineers buying cars without seeing them, or it is truly a scamming Ba****d trying to rob me.
A little more searching revealed that their scam involves paying you on paypal with extra for the pick up agent, then freezing the payment until vehicle is collected (which never happens) in the meantime they get you to pay (via card) the "pick up agent" after that they cancel payment and have made off with your hard earned you payed to the pick up agent.

So after this I replied to the potential buyer:

"Hi Mark,