How do i turn the heat off? Its roasting!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foz

Reaction score
A simple question really, which no doubt results in a simple answer, but i swear i've had the heater control levers in every position possible, and yet still the heat flows into the cab. Can the heat be stopped at all? Being an air cooled newbie i'm completely stumped!
I only ask this question, as the complete dashboard has had a respray from the previous owner, and there are no markings as to what is hot...what is cold, etc.
And when next summer hits, if i haven't sorted it out by then i'll be passing out at the steering wheel, lol

If someone could explain how to achieve the coolest setting, i would be most grateful.

You should have 4 lever-knobs on your dash. The red ones are for heat. Down the heat is on. Up the heat is off. If you dcontro;s are working proprely , as in attached to the heaterboxes the the heater boxes my be malfunctioning and staying open even after you close the knobs. If that is the case then it is another chapter and a read of the Bently repair manual. Good luck. The up side to the old busses is that you can open the blue vent knobs at the same time the heat is on.

Couple of things to check :
1. Get under your bus & check if the heater flaps are stuck open instead of closed,
with both red levers in the "up" position
2. Make sure the control levers are connected to the cables - sometimes the
clip that holds them against the mounting bracket has broken or is missing. ( Hope it's
not the case, these clips are as rare as a rust free kombi......)
3. With the red levers "up" , go 'round the back & see if the booster fan is running. It shouldn't cut in until you move the lever
down.

Check out the link below. It explains how the heater system works with diagrams.