Westy style roofrack

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dirty Harry

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here.
I'm Harry from Holland and i own a 1970 westy campmobile and i was wondering if one of you guys have a westy style roofrack over your polyester roofbox?
I know that http://www.vintagewarehouse.com/ sells these but the shipping is pretty expensive.

This is how it looks like:
549539.jpg

316638.jpg

Is it possibe to convert a empi wetsy style roofrack for this purpose?

And this is my bus 8)
100_2635.jpg

100_2620.jpg

Soon more pics to follow.

Thanks, Harry

Hi try steve at vwoneonone he some times has them i think they are the vintagewarehouse ones.
http://www.vwoneonone.co.uk/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
not on his for sale page you will have to mail him.

ricvw, thanks for the adress i send them a e-mail, i hope they have them.
Otherwise i'm gambling to order a EMPI repro and change it myself, because a standard one is to low to go over the the polyester top.
I must say this website is heaven for a earlybay owner!!! :D
The winter is long and the todo list is quiet long for a bus that has been garaged for almost 10 years after beeing partly restored.

Have you tryed karmankonection over here in the uk or the boys at KandK there in Holland they might even be able to put one in a bus they are shipping over worth a try.

Hi Harry!

Good to see you on here ..... lovely Westy! :cool:

Today i test fitted a original westfalia rack.
With a few minnor modifications it wil fit :D
DSC00173.jpg

Hi Alistar,

It's just a standard rack(original) and it fits over the lugage box.
And it's a little to long, the front bow is just over the poptop.
The bows need new silver paint and the uprights needs a little polishing but otherwise a great rack.

andewilson said: