1641 Twin Port “Big Bore” more power options

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

the DustRoom

Reaction score
We’ve just returned from our first outing in the bay and have a few questions re: increasing power. Apologies if this stuff’s been done to death, I’m pretty new to all of this.

The van has a 1641 Twin Port “Big Bore” which was fitted 4 years ago and, according to the history had forged pistons installed shortly thereafter?

It’s running with stock exhaust and single carburettor.

The van will do 70 on the motorway quite easily which is great but when she meets a hill she’s not happy and with the steeper ones 50 is the best she’ll do - she just runs out of steam and if the revs drop she’s a bit of a pain to get going again though I’ve not had to change down.

In and around town it’s fine but again, really seems to struggle with hills which here in Sheffield; we have a lot of.

So... questions...

Will fitting twin Weber carburettors make a big difference here?
Will swapping the exhaust help as well?
If so (for either/both) what should I be looking to acquire to make the van a fair bit easier to drive?

It depends on what your after . Something like twin 34icts will be an improvement and a matching better flowing exhaust will help.