Fire suppression system

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbo4861

Reaction score
Hi
I been looking at fitting a fire supression system to my engine bay there seems to be two systems available one a tube which runs above the engine which when melted dispenses foam or powder, the other one is called fireboy this just uses a extinguisher which depenses a gas and is suitable for both fuel and electrics can anyone help with some advise

Jimbo

Hi.

First of all I've got to say that I'm no expert so the following is just my personal view.

I looked into this a little while ago and eventually decided to buy an extinguisher from Fire Protection Online. It's a 1kg gas one that, it is said, will automatically go off if the temperature reaches 80degrees C and is suitable for both fuel and electrics. It was just under £100 delivered.

I haven't installed it yet but it looks good quality. As with all of these things you don't know how good it is until it is needed!
I hope that this helps.

Just seen that this is covered in depth, 3 pages, on the Latebay website.

Hi,

I've got PC problems so can't send link but following should be enough. If not let me know.

It's in General Discussion, headed 'Engine Bay Fire Suppression System' last post yeaterday at 3:09pm.

I'm not surprised you didn't find it - I looked first in Technical and thought I'd lost the plot when I couldn't find it there.

Hope this is useful.

Chad

Ive gone with this.

http://www.fireprotectiononline.co.uk/1kg-automatic-fire-extinguisher.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Ive got a 2kg powder extinguisher in the cab,so if the Automatic one if only slows it down,till i can get to the compartment myself to act as fireman. 8)

stalling a fire enough to get yourself and passengers out is most important........Any more,and it can burn to the ground.......its only a lump of metal.