HORN PUSH QUESTION

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mig_man

Reaction score
Hi
this may seem a stupid question but can someone please tell me how the horn push is meant to work.

My bus is a '72 crossover model. I've been restoring it for the last 4 years and now that I'm getting closer to the end I'm struggling to work out how all the bits go that weren't bolted on when I bought it in a part-dismantled state.

It's a standard steering wheel but the centre button was missing. Looking into the wheel there is a metal ring with a connector lug for a spade terminal. I recently bought a new plastic 'push' from VW Heritage. This push has a metal sprung clip round the outside and it is a very tight fit in the metal ring. I've removed the 3 screws securing the metal ring and there seems to be remains the some sort of insulating ring underneath it. Before removing the metal ring it was tight in the wheel and making good electrical contact with the splined centre. Since removing the ring there is now slight movement of the ring on the mounting screws.

My assumption of the way that it must work is that the horn earth wire must come up through the centre of the steering column shaft and connect to the terminal on the metal ring. The ring must be meant to have a large diameter spring underneath it (insulated) which pushes the ring away from the splined boss, thus breaking the electrical contact with the wheel. When the plastic 'push' is pressed it moves the metal ring (compressing the spring) and the metal ring touches on the contact part of the wheel thus completing the earth contact.

Am I correct or am I wrong? If I'm right then there are two things I still don't understand.