total newb, road trip drive home, exhaust fumes 1st vw van

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morgoon

Reaction score
On to my tech quest (stolen from my road trip story in the intro section
)
The bus had sat for almost a year tires cracked, old gas, etc, before I bought it yesterday
PO offered to drive the bus two hours from his home in Manitoba to Kenora for a safety inspection..

There is some rot underneath, but all cosmetic, and very fixable ( or soooo I think right now :) )all kiding aside the bus is in great shape for its age

The suspension and steering feel like it just left the lot, what ever that felt like, I drove home relaxed and feeling very secure

The engine is where I have trouble

Bearing in mind that yesterday is the first time I have ever seen a vw motor up close!

I have mech experience, building a custom jeep, but I am going to have toss any chevy knowlege I have in favour of the VW way of life

Last year he PO drove the van to Georgia and dropped a valve along the way..He knew a vw shop down there, so they redid one side of the motor, two new jugs ( why he did both and not just one I am not sure) new valves, and the rest on just the one side

The van ran like crapat first yesterday..so fumey and rich smelling..I had to duct tape the top engine hatch closed and open the bay windows to prevent co2 poisioning..I was hoping a good highway run and fresh gas would do some good, and it did..the van is driveable and much much better smelling than it was

but the smell is still quite noticiable, the stink rather is more accurate, at low speeds although is noticable till about 55 mph..and last night my wife (while sitting in her car, acting as the damsel with a gas can to the rescue kind of girl stationed behind the vw. Got engulfed in a blue cloud of epic proportions,as seen by car headlight at midnight...