• If you have bought, sold or gained information from our Classifieds, please donate to Early Bay and give back.

You can become a Supporting Member or just click here to donate.

WANTED: My First Early Bay....

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tnt1975

Reaction score
I've been umming and arring for over a year now about buying my first camper. Had plenty of VW Golf's but never ventured into campers....yet.

So I've spent some time thinking about which one I want and soon realised I wanted an early bay. The other half say's i want a white over blue one, which if that's what I have to get to help persuade her then I'm good with that.

Anyway, I'm no mechanic, so looking for something that won't require loads of body work or take forever to get on the road. I'm not necessarily looking for a perfect van either.....

I've got all the links to usual sites and I'm keeping an eye on those (ebay, pistonheads, dubs4sale etc etc).....but what's out there for sale that's not on these sites ? What have you all got up your sleeves that might be just what I'm looking for.

My only must have, other than good bodywork and good engine, is right hand drive. I know I'll get a sound lefty bodywork wise but I just have an aversion to sitting on the wrong side when driving in UK !!!

Any help will be very much appreciated. Thanks. :)

Sounds like you are exactly where I was two years ago, so if it helps to shorten your route to an Earlybay - here goes :-
Spent the first year only looking at RHD, and despite loads of photo's I
wasted a lot of time and effort travelling only to find rust, rust & rust.
All the usual places are well documented (bottom 6" all round). OK you can
find them fresh out of bare-metal resto/makeover but if you are on a set budget !!!!!.
I then switched to looking at LHD (imported from sunny climes) and straight