What to look for when buying...

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbobalero

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a total noob but been lusting after a camper for most of my life and the time seems right to get one. I am goign to (hopefully) have a look at a '68 Westy at the weekend, came over from California in 2008.

Any tips on what I need to be looking for much appreciated.

Thanks

There are loads of guides on the web, this is just one of them.

http://www.volkswest.co.uk/camper_buying.html

My top tip is to take somebody with you who can make sure that you buy with your head, not your heart. Remember that there are lots of these buses about, and there is one that is just right for you. Don't get suckered in by tales of 'huge demand', and check out those claims of restoration or paint jobs, by asking for sight of receipts and photos of the work. If necessary, take pics, walk away, and post them on here for some expert opinion. It comes free and easy.

Or go through somebody like Graham L, on here.

Good luck.

Thanks will read through the article. Being in a slightly more remote part if the uk (think haggis and kilts) local experts are few and far between.

:)

jimbobalero said:
Thanks will read through the article. Being in a slightly more remote part if the uk (think haggis and kilts) local experts are few and far between.

:)

There are loads of folk on here from north of the border (I'll resist any Jock-related jokes :D ).

Where are you based? Somebody might be nearby.

Take a load of pics and post on here and we'll have a look.