1970 tintop resto part 1 - the not my work part

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weeboll

Reaction score
hands up, I confess! I am not very good at body work so after years of trolling around on here whilst reading the many amazing resto jobs that you all have posted I thought I'd post pics as my bay is given some bodywork love. this is part 1 of the resto, part 2 will be putting a new interior inside and finishing off all the little bits and bobs but this part I leave in the very capable hands of stuart munroe at oil droppers in Aylesbury.

we've had the van since 2004 when I bought it in new Zealand and we got it resprayed at the time as was being kept right next to the coast and all the salt spray. ten years later and with quite a bit of rust and we are in for a more major job!

a whole load of parts have been ordered and will post progress pics as they arrive!

enjoy

Ian

the respray had been hiding a fair bit of rot - mainly I suspect from keeping it outside under a cover which retained more water than it should..

lesson learnt, its being kept in a garage from now on!

the front valance was well gone; my theory here I think is because the brake fluid reservoir used to dump its contents when ever it got below -5 as a pipe was contracting in the cold - the brakefluid was all sitting inside the valance and took away all the protective paint.

work progressing @ oil droppers

I'm now needing to sort the inside out and make a decision on lowering - think tranporthaus 3.5" drop spindles at the front and a couple of splines at the back but want to run 15" with fairly stock size tyres at the back to keep the motorway crusing easy. lots of options here to choose from..