1971 bay window - welding needed!!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rocstar

Reaction score
hi everyone - i recently bought myself a 1971 bay window project - basically it need ALOT of welding - outriggers - jacking points - inner and outer sills and a few panels and some work to the chassis. as i am an electrician and have never welded in my life i have decided to give my van to a professional but im unsure of wat sort of price range to expect - any help or info would be much appreciated - i will try and post pics when i get a chance. :? :? :?

Hiya bud,,, that sounds like a lot of work !! I don`t think you`ll get much change out of a new mortgage. But hey it needs to be done. Just sign the cheque and don`t ask how much, it`ll only give you sleepless nights :shock: :shock:
I don`t want to know what I`ve spent on mine so far and it`s still not on the road or even close. !! But welcome anyway to the land of rusty busses and empty walletts :lol: :roll: :lol:

Ozziedog,,,,,,,,,, Ever hopefull 8) :? 8)

when i 1st bought mine i took it to a few places and welding alone replacing everything that needed it, i was quoted a grand a 3rd (front to front of slider, middle section, rear of slider to back)

I bought all the panels i needed for about 1100, and have borrowed my mates welder having not welded in 15 years or so and have tackled it myself. Took 10 months so far, but i have got to know my van intimately.

Give it a go if your in no major rush :D

rocstar said: