Advise from the pros please

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CornishSilver

Reaction score
I am after some advise please. I am totally new to the T2 scene and have zero Experience of them. All I know for sure is that I have a overwhelming desire to own one. I have tried ignoring this but it won't go away infact it's getting stronger. I have made the decision to sell my current T5 camper and go for it. Any body work restoration is well beyond my skill set and although I have not worked on any of my vehicles before I think I can manage most things on the idiot guide service thread. So to the advise, can you guys& girls tell me if this listing on eBay is ringing any alarm bells or does it look like a sensible choice for a 1st early. It's just within my budget with not much left if immediate problems arise. Here's the link http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/VW-T2-DORMOBILE-1971-Early-Bay-Camper-Van-Beautiful-All-Original-Stunning-/131793851661?nav=WATCHING_ACTIVE" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; :beerchug:

Not a pro by any means however the best advice I can give you is when looking at an unknown bus take someone (or pay someone) with you to the viewing who knows what they are looking at.
Best money I have ever spent as they were able to cast an unemotional eye over the potential purchase and check all the known bad areas.
Saved me buying a proper rotter which as far as I can tell is now scrap!

When looking for a bus especially an EarlyBay you are in the right place - never buy shiny unless there is good photographic proof of the restoration work and if you get one from a fellow member there will be a decent history and hopefully a build thread of sorts.

Importantly budget - buses are much cheaper (relatively) in the winter months and much more expensive now. Can be the difference of a few grand!
Worth bearing in mind.