Main Beam troubles

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

craigie76

Reaction score
Hi,

Recently bought a 68 bus converted to a camper with rock & roll bed by the previous owner. It's a left hand drive and has a few niggles. Main problem at the minute is that the main beam does not work. The blue dash light comes on when I flash but nothing else. Fitted some spots/driving lamps and when attached to the white main beam wire nothing. Attach them to the yellow head light wire and they work but as this is not really allowed I need to get the main beam working. As you can guess I am new to VW's(well my mum had an 86 polo years ago) so looking for a few pointers. My current thinking is that there is no power getting to the main beam and/or no switch. Am I right in thinking that the stalk only controls the flash and does not turn on the main beam permenantly? The switch that control the head lights has 3 settings - off/side lights/head lights. When side lights are on the fuel gauge reads full possibly indicating a short circuit somewhere. When head lights are on the fuel gauge reads normally. Seems I have a switch missing to control main beam and a wiring fault. Behind the dash is a birds nest and if I had the money would proberly buy a new wiring loom and fuse box but until then I need to fix the main beam as MOT is due in a couple of weeks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

are you getting full beam when you flash when you have no lights on?

get your multimeter out, and test either side of the fuses with high/main beam on.

in order of checking.

if you are not getting power to the bottom of the fuses pull out the fuse box. if not to the top clean/replace the fuses. if you are getting power to the top of your fuses move to the bulbs and test.