Oil Change

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shavey

Reaction score
Next weekend, depending on weather, I plan to service my bus and also want to change the gearbox oil (but have never done this before and want some advice).

I know the location of engine oil drain plug.

Is the gearbox drain plug inline with this, further down on the transmission box? If this is the correct one, which I think it is, can you confirm the the top up socket is half way up the transmission box on the left hand side looking down from the back of the bus. Plus, should I be buying any gaskets/seals prior to draining and replacing the oil (any advice would be appreciated as I am a novice when it comes to mechanics, but trying to learn more as time goes by)? I did read one thing about checking the top up socket first before draining, hence the need to confirm the location of this, I cannot seem to find any images of this in the manual.

Thanks

Soubds like you have found them :) you won't need any seals. As you said just make sure you can open the fill point first. I had to use a windy gun on mine, I guess it hadn't been opened for a long time.

If you decide to change the gear oil then undo the filler plug first in case its stuck.

This will ensure you can re fill when you drain the oil.

For an oil change i would buy , New oil , New sump gasket and mesh kit from GSF or similar

I take my van for a spin then get it on axle stands as its low, get something to catch old oil in and undo the centre nut on sump plate and let it drain , I let it do this over night

Then next morning i remove sump plate , change gaskets, mesh put it all back together then fill up oil !!

I found one of these very useful to get the new oil "in"