Carb Issues... Or User Error???

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr1ncognit0

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am pretty new to VW, mechanics and have just purchased a gorgeous bus!! :) I am keen to learn and not afraid to tinker.... basic mechanical knowledge attached.

I have removed the old mechanical fuel pump and installed the attached pump and renewed all the fuel lines as they were perished...

IMG_2092.jpg

The pump works well on the ignition and I have put an isolator switch on it. It is pumping fuel no problem, and did into a bucket before closing the loop into the carb.

Carb pictured:

IMG_2093.jpg

My Dad was round last weekend trying to sort it and he squirted fuel into the top of the carb and we got it to fire up for a second or 2 and it ran great.... then stopped!

I have tried to blow through the pipe into the carb and there is nothing getting into the carb, I have taken out the filter from the inlet of the carb and cleaned that.....

As you will have all experienced there is hardly any room around the carb to work or take it off

I would be most grateful if there is anyone who can provide any nuggets of wisdom for me.

Thanks in advance!

Steve

looks like an aftermarket Webber conversion.
there is a valve on a float that shuts off fuel when the chamber is full sounds like it has stuck.
it might free up with a little tap with a spanner but best to take the carb off and clean the valve and jets.
if you take off the filter and look down the carb you should see a jet of fuel spray out when the throttle opens if it doing that you have fuel but might have a blocked jet.

Yep, sounds like a blocked needle valve. As above, take the carb off and replace with a rebuild kit (eurocarb.com) as it could be gunked up so for reliability just replace.