Long drive home!

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donallanwalker

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have just bought a vw camper T2, I have to drive it home from near london to Aberdeen, probably around a 12 hour+ drive. Just wondering if anyone has any tips on checks I could make at the side of the road, or things to look out for on the drive home, as Im brand new to the scene and not too sure what I'm looking out for.

Any help would be great!!

Firstly, congratulations :D

Before going, I'd check the oil level, and then check it again every time you stop, or at least until you're confident it's not using it :lol:

If you have the know-how, I'd take a timing light and check the timing too. Timing being out can quickly kill an engine.

Otherwise, just enjoy the drive. I've driven mine around Spain and France, you get used to the slower pace of life when driving a camper :)

I did Cornwall to Glasgow when I collected mine. If was supposed to be edinburgh but the generator light came on at Carlisle.
Pack a sleeping bag, gloves and hat just in case the weather changes and the heating is not working. It looks like is will be a rainy October so do check the tyres before setting off, especially inside side walls for splits.
Also join the AA or other recovery service with a get you home policy just in case.

Sent from my GX64 SatCom phone using Tapatalk

jonboylaw said:
I did Cornwall to Glasgow when I collected mine. If was supposed to be edinburgh but the generator light came on at Carlisle.
Pack a sleeping bag, gloves and hat just in case the weather changes and the heating is not working. It looks like is will be a rainy October so do check the tyres before setting off, especially inside side walls for splits.
Also join the AA or other recovery service with a get you home policy just in case.

Sent from my GX64 SatCom phone using Tapatalk