My first bay. My biggest project yet.

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

USwesty

Reaction score
Hi, Im new to bays, I have always been in to vws but more of the watercooled side, after having a beetle earlier in the year and getting in to the aircooled side of things I had to have a bay. I sold my beetle and bought this december 1971 westfalia crossover bay US import. Im made up with the van which I think was a bit of bargin although its the rustiest US bay I have ever seen lol I have had my bay for around 4 weeks now and set replacing all the rotten metal. It has been stood for around 15 years due to the owner in the states dieing and I have history proving the 50k on the clock. I had it running for the first time on my birthday (Best birthday present!) After stripping the carb to remove all the termite nests and it ran realy well. My plan is to get most of the work and useable before the realy bad weather comes. Heres a few pics. Im from stafford so if any local early bayers are in the sandon rd side of town and Im outside pop in for a brew the kettle is always on and any pointers are greatly appreciated too.

KGrHqQOKj4E37cKKMWHBOLJuLv1_12.jpg

KGrHqUOKnE4Qt5SKMMBOLJBgoS_12.jpg

KGrHqVk8E4ltnOygBOLJDVSPk_12.jpg

KGrHqYOKjYE4DgkS2qeBOLJCnwIKQ_12.jpg

camperpics042.jpg

camperpics043.jpg

camperpics065.jpg

camperpics076.jpg

camperpics117.jpg

camperpics119.jpg

camperpics140.jpg

lard said:
Looks like you are making great progress! what other plans do you have for it?

Thanks dude its going to be a budget bus realy. Just planning a big drop and some trick wheels maybe mercedes wheels.
Just busy filling in where the tin worm has been. Doing about 2-4 hours a night so its coming along nicely.