Suspension and steering advice.....

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernie

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I've owned and enjoyed my first earlybay for a year now and it's about time to start improvements.
It's a 68 running slightly lowered on standard 14inch steels, standard width balljoint beam on adjusters, standard spindles, drum brakes and no anti-roll bar.
Basically I'm new to all this and learning as I go. I'm 6ft4 and 19 stone so not wanting to go too low but really want to improve the handling as the ride is a bit wobbly and being lhd it often feels like there is a lot of body roll as sitting in the gutter hitting all the pot holes!..... so....
I was informed that dropped spindles would help with suspension travel but to fit to the 68 would increase the beam by 10mm each side and usually only work with discs.... therefore is it best to upgrade the front brakes too along with spindles? (disc conversion seems like a load of money at nearly a grand! Is it worth it!)
Next question, will running a narrowed beam, say 2 inch make my roll issue worse?
Should I put on an anti roll bar?
Also there is a load of play in my steering which seems to be the steering box. Any advice on where to get it refurbed as can't get new ones?
Any opinions welcome. I don't have much budget, £500 - £1000 total so wondering what to spend on first.
Cheers

Yes ,no , no no yes and maybe, :lol: