Would you buy a bus that had been in an accident?

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DaisyJuckes

Reaction score
Hi, I've seen this bus that looks promising BUT they are admittedly selling it due to it having been in an accident. All photos are present and description of damage. Would it be safe to buy a bus that had been in an accident and get the repairs carried out by a reputable restoration/repair company or would you guys not touch it?? Sorry if this seems like a dumb question, newbie here;)

depends on had bad the damage is. Good accident repair would be be no different from heavy restoration work, ie new front clips, new roof, chassis replacements.

just make sure whoever does it are as good as they say

Erm, would you buy a tin or beans from a supermarket if it had a small dent in (yes), it is was squashed and the beans spilt in the floor (no, well unless it was a tin of Barndoor Samba beans) :msn4:

Post up a picture, provided it is repaired well then no worried, think about all the new metal that gets put into restoration projects, often more of a worry.....

I would for all the reasons above and! it will never be in an accident again, its a bit like cats have 9 lives (not really) busses only have one accident (or a few small ones) then they are exempt for life. My bus caught fire and by the law of averages it will never catch fire again :D

.... touch wood

I wonder how many buses have never been in an accident :?: In a vehicle of this age it wouldnt bother me, Ive seen buses that have been 'restored' that I wouldnt buy, but thats another story.........

Thanks for your advice. I know it probably seems like a really stupid question but being no mechanic I just thought I'd ask, feel a bit stupid now so I'll just slope off and hide under the stairs :oops:

DaisyJuckes said: