Cker5's '70 Bay Westy

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cker5

Reaction score
What up earlybay! Greetings from the across the pond.
I wanted to share some picts of my project, it has been a long time in the works. I've been working on her since early 2001, (Not constantly though). I took a job in another state in 2003 and just found a place to store and bring the ole girl back up to do the finishing mechanical bits this August.

I purchased her from the original owner who, bought it new in Amsterdam in 1970. Dude kept it his whole life and sold it to me when he could not care for the rust issues. Doglegs, inner/outer rockers, cab floor, ass curves by the lights, jack points ect.. I consider her a cancer survivor. I marinated on how to paint her for a long time and ended up with this scheme, my mates call it "Urban Camo."

I've been getting her roadworthy:
Rebuilt fuel pump
New fuel lines
timing/points/wires/condenser
New coil
Adjusted the valves
New master cylinder
New wheel cylinders and shoes all around
New brake rubber and rear metal lines
Swing Lever replacement.
new accelerator cable
Finnaly figured out how to install the rivets on the vent wing windows, easy stuff

Shocks and CV boots are next!

Enjoy! Tell me what you think!

DSCN1803.jpg

DSCN1820.jpg

DSCN1818.jpg

DSCN1813.jpg

DSCN1814.jpg

DSCN1809.jpg

1970 Westy
stock 1600 singleport
*2302224454*
B5179949

Peace,
MW

Hello and welcome 8) great details on the van 8)

Araon said:
cool fella, always nice to see something a little different....any further plans?

Thanks!

Yeah, I'm debating on lowering it, it would be nice to see the BRMs tucked in a little. Possibly discs up front, but I do like to tinker with the drums, I'm really into the vintage setup if the mechanicals.

I've replaced the stinger for an Empi dual tip muffler, I also recently installed the engine seal what a difference!