FAO GRAZY - Leisure Battery/Split Charge

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ok guys, heres the thing. Mate of mine has 2 batteries running in parallel and so only has one fuse box....not sure if he has the relay in place...! Is it possible to just wire across from one battery to another, + to +, - to -. Will this work or will something blow up?

First off... Hi from the forum newbie!!

Has anyone used this type of smart relay? If so where did they mount it and did it work?!
Love the site, been a regular visitor but never felt the need to post until now!
Cheers!

Hi Zcot,
Welcome, I am also a noob to earlybay, but am returning to the VW scene after a long layoff (15 years) You're thoughts about connecting two batterys together + to + and - to - reminds me of a generator failure years ago on our bus the night before we were due to set off for a 2 week surf trip to Ireland. At the time I worked for a Tyre company and we ended up paralleling up 3 massive tractor batterys borrowed off the company in the old bus (took out the cool box of the dormobile) ended up driving 2 weeks around Ireland without charging (disconnected the generator and ran off the batterys) - so it can be done. Make sure to use cable of correct rating (great big stuff) to connect all the batterys together. All that happens is that, in effect, you add the AH ratings of the batterys together. Seem to think, if I remember rightly, we ended up with something like 900 AH!

Todster

I run this new type of relay and i'm not totally convinced by it.
I have issues with the relay not switching off even with the ignition off.