Fuel gauge issues | advice needed asap |

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Foz

Reaction score
So i'm trying to tackle my fuel gauge issues once again
I Replaced the fuel sender...still not working
Tested my fuel gauge by earthing the white wire (there are 2 wires out of the back of the gauge 1 white, 1 brown) straight to the body and it shoots to full, so i presume my gauge is fine?

So i ran a length of wire straight from the Sender terminal to the white wire and again gauge shoots to full, tried it to the brown wire and i get sparks.

i know my tank is approx half to a quarter full, yet every connection i try it shoots the gauge straight to full.....what am i doing wrong?...or what do i need to do, to establish the correct connection. and make the sender work correctly?

i'm no mechanic or electrician, so idiot proof directions/advice would be handy

I have an electrical tester, but not quite sure what or how to test with certain knowledge.....i did however test the brown wire out the back of the gauge and a reading of approx 10.47volts comes up....tested the wire at the sender end and i get nothing at all, am i supposed to get a reading at that end?

help please :?

Think the measurements should be taken in OHMS mate rather than volts

Have a look here at Speedy Jims Site

http://www.speedyjim.net/htm/fuel_ga.htm" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

vdo_gauge_ohms_1.gif

As we have both said before - maybe someone working on your bus in the past has severed the sender wire somewhere and it might be a case of tracing that down and repairing it!

Sorry I cant be more help

Some more testing pulled from the interweb