Hope springs

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sidneyvw

Reaction score
Finally after many years yearning we picked up our first bay on May bank holiday. she is a 72 x-over with MOT we got off evilbay for 390. I have put three hundred miles on her already. But today between the showers I finally got round to cleaning her and having a pock around.7

DSCF0129.jpg

DSCF0128.jpg

I have a couple questions
1 why is there such a large gap between the top of the wheel and the arch? the alloys are 15" with 205X 55 ( makes parking a b***h)?
2 the front panel on the old girl is shot how hard is it to replace these, I used to be a welder by trade and have done a fair few panel replacments in my time but nothing this big and which panel shop should I buy them from?
3. when I put a full tank of fuel in her she smells of petrol inside until she gets down to about half a tank, someone mentioned the breathers on the tank can perish. the PO said his mechanic said the carb need replacing?? I have a refit kit for the carb.

Simon

Very nice looking van 8)
The standard 14inch wheels have 75 or 80 profile tyres wich will stand taller than the 55/15's you have on there. The gap on a standard height Bay at the front is quite large anyway but exagerated by the lower diamiter wheel/tyre combo you have there.
Not a fan of them there wheels to be honest but the van itself is propper cool 8)

Rich

Cheers I don't like them either but they cam on the bus would like a set of Radars but I might just go stock

nice looking van,
Hoosier said:
Very nice looking van 8)

Not a fan of them there wheels to be honest but the van itself is propper cool 8)

Rich

I dunno, get it in the weeds and keep em, would look quite cool (i seem to disagree with most people on here as to what looks good, i think i just have better taste :lol: )