UPDATE: What do you think of these carbs?

Early Bay Forum

Help Support Early Bay Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Baldrick

Reaction score
Hi all

I'm getting increasingly hacked off with the twin carbs on my new engine. The carbs are a bit of a "home brew" from the engine builder and although they are original webbers they are not common on VWs. They have also been the source of most of my engine problems over the last year.

The problem as I see it is:
1) Fuel consumption - I only get between 16 and 22 mpg.
2) The inlet manifold makes it difficult to get to the spark plugs at the front and impossible to get to the plugs at the back. I don't want to have to pay someone to do something like change the plugs by taking the engine apart first.

I'm thinking of biting the bullet and just changing them in the hope that I can cure or improve the above problems. However, I'm not technical and don't really understand the differences between the available carbs.

I can read about 34s, 40s, 44s etc... but what does this all mean? Is there anywhere that will explain what each does and the benefits?

Thanks

Hi buddy show us some pics of the carbs so we can see what you have got.
Also what is the spec of your engine :?:
:D

Add to the above issues that they weep petrol!! They have done this from new but I thought it was fixed. I'm not sure if the problem is from the 100 miles I drove yesterday or the fact that I've just filled up, but the gaskets seem to be porous and let petrol seep out.

Anyways, the engine is a 1776. The carbs are weber 36 DCNV with 28mm chokes and the cam is stock.

Pictures:
IMAG0204.jpg

IMAG0203.jpg

IMAG0202.jpg

Thanks